Road to fatherhood

Okay…
So this is my first post on this… Well, I guess a series. Mostly for posterity. But also to help prospective fathers and maybe mothers by giving some idea what to expect.

That said, our experience would not be considered ‘normal’ or ‘average’.

So first, I guess, a bit of back-story.
Some of this may be a bit too personal to share, in which case, those bits will be ‘bleeped’. Telling most of the story is my process.

So let’s start with some basics…
Pregnancy usually means kids, kids can be either planned or unplanned.
For those of you dealing with the unplanned version of parenthood, my next post on the subject probably won’t be helpful or relate-able, sorrry. This pregnancy, while maybe a little unexpected, was planned. But speaking of plans, that is planned to be the topic of my next post.

I’m going to try not to make these posts long involved sagas about unrelated minutiae of our lives, I can get rambley at times. So I may edit for brevity, hopefully without ruining the ‘flow’ of the posts.

I also have a prefacing statement, and if you’ve read some of the rest of my blog, you may have picked this up. I do not, in any way, shape or form, subscribe to the idea of language censorship. The idea that there are special ‘swear’ words that can’t be said is just obscene stupidity to me. I subsctibe to the philosophy that language should be used appropriately, and to censor certain words is to damage the language and hobble communication. So if you find the idea that certain words may be used offensive, consider this your fair warning.

This series, while I am sure will be tangentially related to my other posts, will be linked by a category, the link to just the fatherhood posts can be found here. Feel free to poke around.

In other housekeeping, I welcome comments and discussion, ideas and thoughts. I filter replies for 2 reasons.
1. Spam, spam is not at all welcome.
2. So I will be notified of all replies and don’t miss any.
If it seems like I am not okaying or reading comments in a timely manner, I apologize in advance. I am a horribly inconsistent blogger, and have lots more on my plate these days. Please be patient, I’ll get to you. most of all, thanks for your interest!!

Next, “The Plan: what it was, what it became and why.” with special referral to surviving the loss of dreams, and some confounding health factors.

~ by scawalrus on October 4, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
