Cognative Dissonance in the family….

So, I have this mother in law …. yeah I know, we all groan and roll our eyes.
She’s highly religious, which I am sure you could guess would cause no conflict at all right?

For the longest time I had to bite my tongue and hold my peace for the sake of my better half and her desire for a relationship with her mother. Well, it seems the gloves have come off…

Now in a dazzling display of cognative dissonance I get replies on my facebook wall about the mindless drivvel and funny cat pictures (yes, I post funny cat pictures) and every now and then I get dressed down about how I ‘don’t show religion enough respect’. The difference being now I call that out and throw down. You can imagine how well that goes.

More thoughts after I let them filter and congeale a bit …

Urrgh, well, my responses were probably less polite than they would have been had the stress levels at home and work been less. However, the punchline of the thing was that I refuse, now and for ever, to offer false ‘respect’ to ideas, ideas that oppress thousands too millions, and kill almost as many people. Ideas that have spawned some of what can only be described as the most destructive organisations too human society and dignity. Most especially on my own ‘wall’.

That said, I am very much open to discussion of the issues on my wall. The only thing I ask is that people back their claims, or, in all fairness, accept that claims without backing have no right demanding to be taken seriously by others. Basically, while I am in full agreement, you have the right to believe whatever you want to believe, you do NOT have the right to demand I believe it based on your say-so. You also do NOT possess the right too live a life free from offense.

in 2012, in Aalto University Centre, Linus Torvalds was quoted as saying

“I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended.”

Large portions of my family get offended.

~ by scawalrus on April 23, 2014.

One Response to “Cognative Dissonance in the family….”

  1. My responses are also less polite than they should be. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

 
