One man’s meat …..

Ok, deep truth time.  I am not a local here in Canada – at least not by birth or upbringing.  I know that make come as a big shock to you all, with this being entirely undetectable, and how well I blend in, but I am not.

So what does that mean for my attempts to fit in?  Well this is where I give myself carte blanch to whine for a few paragraphs.  So if you want to go and get your cheese and crackers before you continue, I will understand

………

You thought I was joking right?  Not likely, I’ll wait …..

……..

Ok, well I don’t want to hear about it if you haven’t got all the cheese and crackers to go with my whine….

This meant culture shock when I moved here.  The food here lacks substantially.  The food back home was much better in my humble opinion.  Especially seafood.  Now firstly, this is hardly surprising because we are inland and not costal, so most of the fish is freshwater fish – and when it comes to edibility, there is little in freshwater I am willing to consider.  And most of those are fish that have life-cycles that take them into marine environments like salmon or barramundi.  (If you are unfamiliar with Barramundi, then I suggest you buy yourself the next ticket to Cairns and go eat some.  It will be worth the price of the ticket!).  What’s worse, the seafood that DOES exist here is usually ruined by cooks who have no idea what they are doing.  Calimari like rubber bands, Lobster and Prawns that are so salty that they give your mouth chemical burns, and that all on top of things that have been frozen so long that they are tasteless, dry, chewy and watery.

I miss the real food back home ….

Then there is the lingo.  Were I to speak how I grew up speaking, I’d be fucking fired and nailed to a bloody wall!  I may even bloody well be fucking charged!

Why?  All this hyper religious puritanical fear of offense.  Political correctness on steroids!  Offense is not something people are entitled to be protected from.  And bigotry will turn up no matter how sanitized the language used to convey it.  There is a difference between strong language and bigotry.  A difference that North America for the most part does not understand.  THIS is why bigotry is so rampant here.  And frankly, I think it’s bullshit.  Bigotry is about the message being conveyed, not the words conveying it.  Political correctness is all about creating a multitude of rigid rules so as to be able to beat people over the head while they attempt to express their thoughts without using half the words in the language.

Gaagh.

~ by scawalrus on July 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
