Brushes with Variety

So the area is a little parochial – or at least was.  But as I think I mentioned earlier, diversity is growing in this area, evidenced by the slow growth of different cultural restraints.  Also by the slow growth in different skin colours and cultural attire that turn up.  The slight increase in differing accents …

I think it’s good to see.  But I have kind of got out of the habit of dealing with difference.  I received a call from a gentleman this week, he was looking for information about housing.  Our mandate requires us to collect as much information as we can to inform municipal decisions about housing as well as inform other agencies.  We have very strict privacy protections however, only numbers are shared not personal information.  This client seemed very cagey about giving information.  I had also detected an accent I recognized.  I don’t know, but I suspect that the client on the other side of the phone may have recently come from a country that has mechanisms to control and pursue their population.  This may possibly have been why this client was not keen to share too much information about himself.

Alternatively, maybe he was concerned about spam – or knows the value of his own information …

~ by scawalrus on June 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
